Announcements / April 24, 2023

2023 Network Innovation Awards

The Global Ties U.S. 2023 Network Innovation Awards honor dedicated professionals who strive to build a stronger community across the Network, in their communities, and for international visitors. By developing impactful, inclusive, and transformative programming, these individuals and group collaborators helped transform our work in international exchange and citizen diplomacy in 2022. These awards replace the Excellence in Programming Awards, last distributed in 2020, and include modified selection criteria that focus on innovation and impact. Awardees were nominated and selected by Network peers and leaders, including prior recipients of our Excellence in Programming Awards and our 2022 Network Innovation Awards. Congratulations to this year’s winners.  

Outstanding Programmer at an All-Volunteer CBM:
Zuza Bohley of Boulder Council for International Visitors

Outstanding Programmer(s) at a Small Paid-Staff CBM Award:
Kristina Escudero & Andrea Myers, GlobalJax 

Andrea Myers (Left) and Kristina Escudero (Right) with Shawn Davis (Middle,) their nominator. All Photo Credits: Kristoffer Tripplaar

2023 Outstanding Programmer at a Large Paid-Staff or University-Affiliated CBM:
Shannon Payne, WorldDenver 

Shannon Payne (Right) of WorldDenver accepts the award from Sarah Sibley of WorldBoston, the 2020 awardee. 

2023 Outstanding Program Associate/Coordinator at an NPA:
Ryan Oberlag, Meridian International Center

Ryan Oberlag of Meridian International Center gives remarks after receiving his award for Outstanding NPA Program Associate/Coordinator.

2023 Outstanding Program Officer/Manager(s) an an NPA:
Crystal Kelch, MCID Washington & Meghan Simpson, World Learning  

Crystal Kelch (Right) of the MCID Washington receives the award from Courtney Brooks, Executive Director of Global Ties KC.

2023 Outstanding International Visitor Liaison:
Marie-Paule McNeice  

Marie-Paule McNeice accepts her award for Outstanding International Visitor Liaison from Andrew Kovach of the Cleveland Council on World Affairs.

Outstanding Group Collaboration Award Winner: “A Global Moment in Time” Special Initiatives Team:
Tatiana Rodzianko and Victor Duncan, Program Officers, Office of International Visitors, U.S. Department of State
Tina Hall, Program Support Specialist, New York Program Branch, Office of International Visitors
Meghan Simpson and Hallie Skripak Gordon, World Learning Programmers
Bonnie Beard and Brittany Lynk, Bridge Builders

From left: Victor Duncan, Brittany Lynk, Bonnie Beard, Hallie Shripak Gordon, Meghan Simpson representing the team after the award was presented by Jena Mélançon  

Outstanding Interpreter:
Jenny Donahue, English-Spanish Interpreter 

Outstanding IVLP Interpreter & Liaison Team: The Secretary of State’s 2022 International Women of Courage Award and IVLP Interpreter/Liaison Team

  • Fatima Almutawakel (Arabic)
    Paula Nassif (Arabic)
    Rana Raad (Arabic)
    Nabil Tohme (Arabic)
    May Khin (Burmese)
    Sunda Kingsley (Burmese)
    Thin Koko (Burmese)
    Leesa Fields (Liaison)
    Diane Fisch (Liaison)
    Frank Kasell (Liaison)
    Minnie Battle Mayes (Liaison)
    Tara Niraula (Nepali)
    Anup Pahari (Nepali)
    Shaubhagya Shrestha (Nepali)
    Natalia Ferreira (Portuguese)
    Alcione Hall (Portuguese)
    Maria Carolina Paraventi (Portuguese)
    Marcos Pereira (Portuguese)
    Nancy Hand (Spanish)
    Ana Lahr (Spanish)
    Jennifer Soto (Spanish)
    Vinka Valdivia (Spanish)
    Brittany Lynk (Liaison)

From left: Shaubhagya Shrestha, Brittany Lynk, Frank Kassell, and Rana Raad, with award presenter Rachel Reed, representing their team.